The Graduate

SO, here I am sitting in my first apartment.

Image

The first things that I felt excitement for about this living situation were as follows: NEW CITY (Indianapolis), INTERNSHIP (IUPUI Res Life), anddddd the kicker–A FULL BED. It’s huge. Ginormous. Gargantuan.

Okay fine. I slept in a queen bed in Topeka on the road trip over here and that was so big that I actually got trapped in the middle and ended up turning sideways just so that I could stick one of my legs out as is custom in my sleep.

Let me tell you a few things about the last few weeks in chronological order, starting with the best pre-finals camping trip.

We have this thing at school called Reading Period where we’re given the Thursday and Friday off before our finals week in order to study.

I went camping/dancing/PBR sipping instead. I went with two girlfriends of mine, one of whom is one of the reasons I survived my senior year (@Phooboo). It was amazing. It’s funny–usually people don’t continue meeting people during their last few weeks of senior year, but I did. And during these few days (and the weeks before and after) I capitalized on some of these new friendships.

I have always been a people person. They energize me. I needed the energy these last few miles in the race we call College. From my residents, to my other freshmen friends, to my senior seminar classmates, to a few of my crew girls that reignited friendships with me, I thank you.

BUT, then came me actually needing to study for finals. Seeing as I had just spent the previous Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday in the library studying for some last minute tests and papers the week BEFORE finals, I was not excited to spend more time in the library.

BUT I DID IT. I fricken did it.

A few all nighters, a few bottles of five hour energy (this stuff is actually incredible), black/green tea, friends making food/coffee runs so I wouldn’t have to leave my prime real estate in the library, the library streakers, the fro-yo runs, 37 pages of typed pages, 14 pages of written tests, and squeezing in some time for the friends and a last Thursday night at Magoo’s– I made it.

Here’s to nights that never end.

And then the parents came. 

My dad walked in my room and said with a chuckle, “This all won’t fit in the car.”

Image

He was right.

It didn’t.

Image

So we got a very Northwest looking Yakima storage… thing.

And it still didn’t fit.

Image

So a friend of mine moving into her first place got VERY lucky with some great pieces of furniture, lighting, and cooking ware. =D

Still had to ship stuff here to Indianapolis because I had to make sure it fit in…

MY NEW (2002) JETTA.

Interwebs, meet the Jettish:

Image

Anyways.

Graduation was amazing, actually. I didn’t cry. I always thought I would.

It’s probably because I started taking crazy pills (aka for anti-anxiety/anti-depression). And I have only had 2 or 3 moments where I’ve cried out of panic and frustration. Compare this to the almost daily episodes I was having, life is pretty spectacular. =]

But don’t get me wrong– I was still filled with emotion. I can’t even begin to speak highly enough about my experiences these last few years. From Residence Life to Crew, and then from the friends I met my first year and the friends I met this last year. All equally important, all incredible.

We made the 1,000 mile drive home, stopping at Uncle Tom’s for a lovely night and then I cooked breakfast the next day. Uncle Tom was impressed– he didn’t think I had paid attention when he had cooked all those breakfasts for me over the years.

Home was weird. I finally got that feeling where I really did feel like a visitor.

I didn’t even sleep in my own bed because I dumped clothes onto it to go through again (I STILL have too much stuff).

BUT, it was still nice. Had margaritas at Paco’s with the family, went to Barnes and Noble and bought Lauren a book, and snuggled with mom and dad.

Then dad and I left LA for the 2,100 mile road trip to Indianapolis.

We stopped in Vegas.

For gas.

Stopped in Utah to see the BEAUTIFUL rock formations.

Image

Stopped in Colorado to eat Taco Bell and then for dinner to see a cousin and his family and take shelter at their place.

And then we hit Kansas.

For a long time.

Image

The rumors are true.

It is flat.

And there is no place like… Kansas.

But then we hit Missouri and saw an old bridge on Route 66.

Image

And from there, the anticipation and excitement killed me.

By 6 pm that day we were in my new apartment. My home for the summer.

It took all of 10 minutes to unload all of my stuff with the help of Becky (a supervisor) and my dad.

And now I’m here.

I have bought toilet paper and my first set of dishes and silverware and other miscellaneous (and necessary) items from Target. $200 later, I think I can function for the summer. =D

I set up my car insurance, got a credit card (time to earn some rewards points on gas–don’t worry friends, I’ll pay it off each month, I’m not ready to screw with credit card companies), and went to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway before the craziness of the Indy 500 ensues (this weekend!)

Image

And now here I am, writing this blog post.

And it’s bed time here on EAST COAST TIME. what? Indiana is so not East Coast. But whatever. Time Zones don’t make sense.

Excitedly and affectionately,
Graduate Girl in Like

Leave a Reply

